Click here to see COVID-19 updates

Archbishop's Appeal

The Archbishop’s Appeal is the annual fundraising campaign that provides supplemental financial assistance to institutions, programs and ministries affiliated with the Catholic Church throughout the Archdiocese of San Antonio.

Learn More about the Archbishop’s Appeal Make a Donation to the Archbishop’s Appeal.
  • 4,500,000
  • 4,000,000
  • 3,000,000
  • 2,000,000
  • 1,000,000


​Strong commitment to Catholic education highlighted by enduring faith that shines through deeds

July 11, 2019 | posted by Today's Catholic newspaper

Topics: Catholic Schools, Hope for the Future

Strong commitment to Catholic education highlighted by enduring faith that shines through deeds

The Department of Catholic Schools and Hope for the Future celebrated the 28th Catholic Schools Leadership Awards ceremony May 10 at the ONMI San Antonio Hotel at the Colonnade, honoring individuals sharing humility and grace, not seeing that their everyday actions stand out as extraordinary, impacting so many others.

Remarks were given by Marti West, superintendent of Catholic School, and Father Larry Christian, archdiocesan episcopal vicar, who read a speech prepared by Archbishop Gustavo García-Siller, MSpS, who was unable to attend the event due to a weather-related flight delay.

The Hall of Fame Award was presented to Roland and Diana Barrios Treviño, and the Servant Leader Award was given to Rita Graves.

Kay Duc of Our Lady of Perpetual Help School in Selma, Michelle Mendez of St. Gerard High School, and Annie Wheaton of Sacred Heart School in Floresville were named Outstanding Leaders.

Archdiocesan High School Teacher of the Year was James Bendele from Central Catholic High School and Elementary Teacher of the Year were Lorraine Driskill from St. Luke School.

The 34 Teachers of the Year were: Patricia Valadez, Antonian College Preparatory High School; Natalie Jimenez, Blessed Sacrament School; James Bendele, Central Catholic High School; Erika M. Lopez, Holy Cross of San Antonio; Shannon Gibbons, Holy Name School; Anita Middleton, Holy Spirit School; Lydia S. Doubleday, Incarnate Word High School; Joe D. Gonzalez, Little Flower School; Marianne Norris, Mount Sacred Heart School; Delia De La Mora, Notre Dame School; Polly Deitschel, Our Lady of Perpetual Help School; Thomas Woods, Our Lady of the Hills Regional Catholic High School; Daniele Delgado, Providence Catholic School; Jacob Cantu, Rolling Hills Academy; Amy Cardona, Sacred Heart School in Floresville; Antonia Mireles, Sacred Heart School in Uvalde; Abraham Callahan, St. Anthony High School; Harold Verkamp, St. Anthony Elementary School; Judith Priest, St. Gerard Middle and High School; Sandra Rosales, St. Gregory the Great School; Susan Tasek, St. James School in Seguin; Pamela Meyer, St. James the Apostle School; Elizabeth Bowlin, St. John Berchmans School; Karen Gentry, St. John Bosco School; Martha Sweeney, St. John Paul II High School; Diaham Fuentes, St. Louis School in Castroville; Loraine Driskill, St. Luke School; Anna Nuñez, St. Mary Magdalen School; Bobbi King, St. Mary School in Fredericksburg; Leticia Cardenas, St. Matthew School; Katherine Bazany, St. Monica School; Sara Edgington, St. Peter Prince of the Apostles School; Sandra Wells, St. Pius X School; and Jana Proff, Sts. Peter and Paul School in New Braunfels.

Institutions celebrating their jubilees included: 90 years, Mount Sacred Heart School; 70 years, St. John Berchmans School; 60 years, St. Luke School; 60 years, St. Pius X School; 55 years, Antonian College Preparatory High School; and 10 years, St. John Paul II High School.